The South Dakota Sports Hall of Fame is dedicated to the preservation, documentation and display of South Dakota's sports history.

John Egan - Inducted 2002

Born April 1, 1931. Minneapolis (Washburn HS). 1953 Augustana grad. Egan began a 35-year career with the Sioux Falls Argus Leader in 1955, serving as sports writer, sports editor and sports columnist. He was voted the South Dakota Sportswriter of the Year eight times. Egan was cited by the Associated Press and the South Dakota Newspaper Association for authorship of the South Dakota sports story of the year on several occasions.

In 1990, Egan was recognized for 35 years of service to the Howard Wood Dakota Relays. He is a member of the North Central Conference Hall of Fame, the Sioux Falls Washington High School Hall of Fame and the South Dakota Basketball Coaches Association Hall of Fame. He is one of the founders of the South Dakota Sports Hall of Fame. Egan has received distinguished service awards from many other organizations, including the South Dakota Tennis Hall of Fame, NCC Holiday Basketball Tournament, Sioux Falls Area Chamber of Commerce, South Dakota Education Association and the NCAA and NAIA. In 2001 he received the Lefty Olson Award, which recognizes lifetime service and achievement in athletics or athletic administration by an Augustana graduate.

Egan transferred to Augustana from the University of Minnesota as a sophomore. "Olson and Ole Odney became as important to me in life as my own father. No greater compliment can I give them. I loved each practice, every trip, every game, all associations that I made (lifetime friendships). The transfer was a positive turning point in my life." Egan was a member of the basketball teams under Olson and Odney.

From 1971-1990, Egan produced a radio football show with sportscaster Ray Scott that was syndicated nationally.

« Back to Contributors