The South Dakota Sports Hall of Fame is dedicated to the preservation, documentation and display of South Dakota's sports history.

Harvey Naasz - Inducted 2017

The Mobridge High and University of South Dakota grad was one of the state's finest prep football coaches, going 169-58-3 in 24 seasons, mostly at Winner.

He coached 17 years at Winner, where he guided the Warriors to three state titles (1981, ’87 and ’89) and one runner-up finish (1986). Naasz's Warriors were unbeaten in 1980, '81 and '87. He was a longtime athletic director at Winner as well. He also coached at Gettysburg (two years), Custer (one) and Gregory (four).

He was an all-state football player at Mobridge and also played at USD.

Four times Naasz was elected by his peers as the state's High School Football Coach of the Year. He was selected to the National High School Athletic Coaches Association Hall of Fame in 2008. He is a member of the South Dakota High School Coaches Association Hall of Fame and the South Dakota Football Coaches Association Hall of Fame. He joins his brother Howard in the South Dakota Sports Hall of Fame.

« Back to Coaches