The South Dakota Sports Hall of Fame is dedicated to the preservation, documentation and display of South Dakota's sports history.

Dave Hanten - Inducted 2010

One of the state's finest amateur golfers, Hanten burst onto the scene as a 15-year-old when he finished second to Phil Donohue in the 1961 match-play championship.

A three-time winner of the state match-play tourney (1969, 1974, 1976) and three-time winner of the state stroke-play event (1974, 1975, 1977), the Huron High grad was the first player to win both tourneys in the same year. His six major titles were the most until Ryan Jansa eclipsed the mark in 2003. He was runner-up in the state match-play tourney three times and was medalist in the event four times in a six-year span (1971-76).

Hanten, who was taught by legendary Huron pro Hobe Richards Sr., qualified for the U.S. Amateur five times and the U.S. Junior twice. He won the Central South Dakota Open five times (this was a really big tourney in the 1960s and '70s). In 1980, he shot a course-record 61 at Minnehaha Country Club (par 70).

He was the South Dakota Independent Male Athlete of the Year for 1976 as chosen by the state's sportswriters. He was inducted into the South Dakota Golf Association Hall of Fame in 1997. Hanten is a former board member and president of the South Dakota Golf Association. He was a co-founder of Willow Run Golf Course in Sioux Falls and has been the course's director of golf since it opened in 1986.

At Arizona State, he won the Western Athletic Conference tourney in 1967. Among those he defeated in that tourney was Johnny Miller, who became a well-known golf TV broadcaster and had a very successful PGA career. Hanten also was all-conference that year.

At Huron, Hanten was a two-time state prep champion (1961 and '63) as well as a two-time state Jaycee junior champ.

« Back to Athletes