The South Dakota Sports Hall of Fame is dedicated to the preservation, documentation and display of South Dakota's sports history.

Curt Fredrickson - Inducted 2013

An Aberdeen Central and Northern State grad, Fredrickson is the second-winningest active NCAA Division II women’s basketball coach with 723 wins in 34 seasons.

He also was a great all-around athlete, excelling in football, basketball and baseball. He ranks as one of the greatest amateur baseball players in state history.
Fredrickson was  just the 16th head coach across all NCAA divisions to reach the 700-win mark.  He led Northern State to the NAIA Division II tournament five times, winning  titles in 1992 and 1994 and finishing runner-up  in 1993. The Wolves were 30-4 in 1992 and 32-1 in 1994. He has guided Northern State to six Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference titles and six runner-up finishes. He led NSU to 45 consecutive wins from 1993-95. Early next season he will coach his 1,000th game.

The success hasn’t stopped since Northern  joined the NCAA Division II ranks in 1995-96. The Wolves have made postseason appearances  five times under the new affiliation, reaching the regional semifinals in 1997, ’98 and ’11.

At Aberdeen Central, Fredrickson was first-team all-state in football and basketball, and he was the Eastern South Dakota Conference scoring champ in basketball as a senior.

As an athlete at Northern,  the 6-foot, 210-pounder was an NAIA All-American in football (defensive back) and baseball (P-3B-1B) in 1974.

He played amateur baseball for nearly 30 years. His pitching record was an astounding 256-13, and he hit .410 with 277 home runs. He is the only player in state history with more than 250 home runs and more than 250 pitching victories. He was MVP of the 1977 state tourney, winning four games to help Aberdeen C&R to the state title. He also played on state title teams in 1985 and ’88, and he was the state tourney batting champ in 1982, ’88 and ’91.

Fredrickson was inducted into the NAIA Hall of Fame in March of 2013. He is a member of the NSU Hall of Fame and the South Dakota Amateur Baseball Hall of Fame.

« Back to Coaches