The South Dakota Sports Hall of Fame is dedicated to the preservation, documentation and display of South Dakota's sports history.

Clint Johnson - Inducted 2005

A 1974 Spearfish High grad, Johnson dominated the saddle bronc riding competition on the pro rodeo circuit in the 1980s. He was the Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association world saddle bronc champion four times - in 1980 and 1987-89 - and he was runner-up in 1983, 1985 and 1986. He started his pro rodeo career in 1975. The 5-foot-9, 160-pounder qualified for the National Finals Rodeo 12 years in a row (1978-89). He also won the 1989 NFR average and he won the Calgary Stampede Rodeo $50,000 bonus a record three times. He retired in 1991. Johnson was recognized by the South Dakota Cowboy and Western Heritage Hall of Fame in 1984. He was on the PRCA Board of Directors from 1986-89 and also served as vice chairman of the board. He was inducted into the Pro Rodeo Cowboys Association Hall of Fame in 1992, the Casey Tibbs Foundation in 1996 and the National Cowboy Hall of Fame in 1999. In 2004, he was inducted into Spearfish High School's hall of fame. Johnson grew up on a ranch near Spearfish. As a senior in high school, he was a state champion wrestler and an all-conference offensive guard in football. He also was the state high school saddle bronc champion. At South Dakota State, he won the saddle bronc riding, bareback riding and all-around titles in the Great Plains Region of the National Intercollegiate Rodeo Association in 1977.

« Back to Athletes