The South Dakota Sports Hall of Fame is dedicated to the preservation, documentation and display of South Dakota's sports history.

Banquet tickets available

March 29, 2005 by

Tickets are on sale for the South Dakota Sports Hall of Fame banquet April 2 at the Sioux Falls Convention Center. Ten people will be inducted into the Hall of Fame at the 2005 banquet. Tickets are $20 in advance and $25 at the door. Tickets are available at Dakota Sports in Sioux Falls, by calling Glen Peterson (605-336-6715) or by writing to the South Dakota Sports Hall of Fame, Box 88602, Sioux Falls, SD 57109-8602. The banquet consists of a social at 5 p.m., dinner at 6:30 and induction ceremonies at 7:30. This year's inductees include Larry Luitjens, the state's winningest boys basketball coach. Jeffrey LeMair and Pat Jefferson, boxing contemporaries in the 1970s who were among the nation's best, also are among the inductees. The others are wrestling coach Marv Sherrill, world saddle bronc champion Clint Johnson, basketball player and coach Mel Klein, basketball referee Pat Morrison, amateur baseball pitcher Dave Gassman, softball shortstop Blanche Even and Hall of Fame founder Don Bierle. LeMair, Klein and Even live in Sioux Falls, Luitjens in Custer, Morrison in Mobridge, Gassman in Canova, Sherrill in Watertown, Johnson in Canyon, Texas, and Jefferson in Alaska and Reno, Nev. Bierle is being honored posthumously. The South Dakota Sports Hall of Fame was established by the South Dakota Sportswriters Association in 1968. With these new inductees, the Hall will boast a membership of 157.

Posted in:

Reader Comments

0 Comments on Banquet tickets available

Would you like to comment?

** Your comment will posted after approval