The South Dakota Sports Hall of Fame is dedicated to the preservation, documentation and display of South Dakota's sports history.

Almost 400 attend induction banquet

April 20, 2006 by

Almost 400 people attended the 2006 South Dakota Sports Hall of Fame induction banquet April 8 at the Sioux Falls Convention Center. The 10 inductees were Rapid City Post 22 baseball coach Dave Ploof, basketball greats Kent Hyde, Bob Swanhorst and John Diefendorf, basketball coach Dave Strain, golfer Indy Titterington, track and cross country coach Andy Zephier, athletic trainer Keith ?Doc? Fitzpatrick, sportswriter Bob Oates and radio sportscaster Norm Hilson. Ploof and Strain live in Rapid City, Zephier and Swanhorst in Sioux Falls, Oates in Los Angeles, Hyde in Little Rock, Ark., and Fitzpatrick in Mitchell. Hilson, Titterington and Diefendorf were honored posthumously. Along with the 10 inductees, 17 current Hall of Famers also attended the banquet. Among them was 1964 Olympic gold medalist Billy Mills. The others were Jim Sutton, Rex Swett, Lolly Forseth, Dave Gassman, Clyde Hagen, Mel Klein, Jeffrey LeMair, Bob Winter, Joe Salem, Jim Marking, Gayle Hoover, Gordie Fosness, Hod Nielsen, Don Lindner, Marv Sherrill and Howard Connors.

Posted in:

Reader Comments

0 Comments on Almost 400 attend induction banquet

Would you like to comment?

** Your comment will posted after approval