The South Dakota Sports Hall of Fame is dedicated to the preservation, documentation and display of South Dakota's sports history.

2012 Banquet Tickets On Sale

January 28, 2012 by


All ticket sales now handled by Dakota Sports in Sioux Falls


SIOUX FALLS, SD – Tickets are on sale for the 2012 South Dakota Sports Hall of Fame banquet to be held Saturday, April 14, at the Sioux Falls Convention Center.


All advance ticket sales will be handled by Dakota Sports, 2802 W 41st Street, Sioux Falls  and are $35. Advance tickets are available by calling Dakota Sports at 332-2131 or toll free 1-800-888-2193.  The deadline for advance sales is Wednesday, April 11.  There will be a limited number of tickets available at the door for $40 the night of the banquet.


The banquet starts with a social at 4:30 p.m., followed by dinner at 6:00 p.m. and the induction ceremony at 7:00 p.m.

Wrestler Lincoln McIlravy, an Olympic bronze medalist, is among 10 people selected for induction into the South Dakota Sports Hall of Fame.

The other honorees are basketball players Diane (Hiemstra) Gabriel, Rick Nissen and Steve Brown, basketball player/coach Jim Kampen, volleyball coach Galen Busch, gymnastics coach Sheri Keck, baseball coach Mark Ekeland and football players Clarence Schutte and Dan Dworsky.


McIlravy lives in Solon, Iowa; Nissen in Rogers, Minn.; Busch in Mission; Keck in Rapid City; Ekeland in Brookings; Brown in Chanhassen, Minn.; Dworsky in Los Angeles; and Gabriel in Santa Barbara, Calif. Kampen and Schutte are being honored posthumously.

The Hall of Fame was established by the South Dakota Sportswriters Association in 1968 and is now an independent non-profit organization. The 2012 class of inductees will boost membership to 225.


Posted in: General

Reader Comments

0 Comments on 2012 Banquet Tickets On Sale

Would you like to comment?

** Your comment will posted after approval